Tabasco Brand Hot sauce is gluten-free! Great news for you because now you can avoid gluten AND bland tasting food. Dive into the world of all things gluten-free hot sauce in this spicy article🥵
🔥Is TABASCO® brand hot sauce gluten free?
Yes, Tabasco brand hot sauce is gluten free!
That's good news for us that love spicy foods but need to avoid gluten.
In fact, none of the ingredients in Tabasco brand hot sauce contain gluten.
Plus, on the companies' website, they state that their Original Hot Pepper Sauce is:
"Considered Gluten Free according to the definitions set forth by the FDA."
Just how awesome is it to know that you can shake some of this spicy condiment on your tacos anytime and NOT have to worry about being bloated or in pain from gluten the next day?! Yay!
📝Ingredients in TABASCO® hot sauce
There are only 3 ingredients in Original Tabasco hot sauce:
- Chili peppers
- Distilled vinegar
A simple list of ingredients, if I ever did see one.
So, where does all the flavor come from?
TABASCO® Original Red Pepper Sauce is aged in white oak barrels for up to three years, before bottling.
Kinda like a good red wine: gets better with time😄
🙋♀️Types of Vinegars
If your spidey-senses went up when you read that Tabasco sauce has vinegar in it, you're on the right track.
Because some vinegars contain gluten.
Here's the deal:
Pure vinegar, such as white vinegar, apple cider vinegar, and many other types of vinegar, is typically gluten-free.
During the fermentation process, any gluten-containing grains used are converted into alcohol, and then into acetic acid, which is the main component of vinegar.
This process effectively removes gluten from the final vinegar product.
However, there's a catch: some specialty flavored vinegars or vinegar-based condiments may have additional ingredients that could introduce gluten into the product.
For example, malt vinegar is traditionally made from barley, which contains gluten.
So malt vinegar does contain trace amounts of gluten, and it's generally best to avoid malted vinegar if you're trying to avoid all sources of gluten, even small amounts.
🥣Who makes TABASCO® brand hot pepper sauce?
Tabasco® Brand products are made by McIlhenny Company, founded by Edmund McIlhenny in 1868 on Avery Island, Louisiana.
It was on that very same island that Mcllhenny developed the recipe for TABASCO® Original Red Pepper Sauce.
And he told his children. And his children's children.
And his children's children's children...well. You get the idea.
That recipe for hot pepper sauce was passed down for generations.
To this day, the company is still family-owned and -operated on that very same island.
📚The short history of TABASCO® hot sauce
So get this!
One guy back in 1868(!) created this peppery sauce we love today.
Edmund McIlhenny found the diet of the Reconstruction South pretty bland and boring, especially by Louisiana standards.
So, Edmund decided to create a pepper sauce to give the food some flavor and zing.
A few (hundred) pepper plants and a specialized bottle that allows the sauce to to be "sprinkled on" and not poured on later, Original Tabasco Sauce was born!
To this day, the process of making the pepper sauce is managed on it's humble origins: on Avery Island, Louisiana.
Now the classic pepper sauce is beloved all over the world and sold in over 195 countries and territories!
✅Other kinds of TABASCO® hot sauce
Tabasco brand didn't stop at the OG.
They have a whole bunch of hot pepper sauces to put a kick of flavor into your foods.
Here's some of the different kinds of pepper sauce they offer:
- Tabasco Original Red Sauce: This is the classic and most well-known Tabasco sauce. It's made from aged red peppers, salt, and vinegar. It has a tangy, spicy flavor and is the standard Tabasco sauce used on so many things!
- Tabasco Green Sauce: The Green Sauce is made from jalapeño peppers and has a milder heat level compared to the original red sauce. So if you're lookin' to sweat a little less at the dinner table, this is for you. It provides a fresh, tangy flavor with a hint of garlic.
- Tabasco Chipotle Sauce: This smoky and rich sauce is made from smoked, dried jalapeño peppers, known as chipotle peppers. It has a distinct smoky flavor and moderate heat.
- Tabasco Garlic Pepper Sauce: This sauce combines mellow garlic with three different peppers: red, cayenne, and mellow habanero. It offers a balanced blend of spice and garlic flavor.
- Tabasco Habanero Sauce: Made from fiery habanero peppers, this sauce packs a punch in terms of heat. It has a fruity and intense spiciness that fans of hot sauces often enjoy.
- Tabasco Sweet and Spicy: This sauce combines the heat of red peppers with a touch of sweetness, making it a versatile option for various dishes.
- Tabasco Buffalo Style Hot Sauce: This sauce is a tribute to classic buffalo wing sauce. It provides a tangy, spicy kick with buttery notes, ideal for chicken wings and other savory snacks. You could use it in this recipe for Crispy Buffalo Chicken Salad or these Buffalo Cauliflower Wings (gluten-free)
- Tabasco Scorpion Sauce: One of the spicier options from Tabasco, the Scorpion Sauce features scorpion peppers, which are known for their intense heat. It's not for the faint of heart.
🚫When is hot sauce NOT safe for your gluten-free diet?
Yes, you're probably safe having hot sauce and you're definitely okay having the Tabasco Brand Original Hot Sauce.
But you want to check the ingredient list on any other hot sauce bottle you come across to make sure there are no gluten containing ingredients.
Read the labels, product packaging and / or check the manufacture's website for information.
Just because a product doesn't have a third-party certification, doesn't mean it's not gluten-free. It just means the company, for whatever reason, didn't go through the certification process.
Here's some ingredients to look out for on different hot sauces as they may introduce gluten into the final product:
- Wheat Starch: This is a common additive in processed foods, and it's made from wheat so look out. The final product may still contain residual gluten, making it not a great for you if you're avoiding all gluten for because of gluten sensitivity or celiac disease.
- Malt Extract or Flavoring: Malt is usually made from barley, which contains gluten. Foods and beverages that contain malt extract or flavoring are best avoided if you're avoiding all gluten for because of gluten sensitivity or celiac disease.
- Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein: This additive is often used as a flavor enhancer. It's made from wheat and can contain gluten.
- Modified Food Starch: While modified food starch can be derived from a few different sources, including corn and potatoes, it might also come from wheat. To find out for sure, check the label of the packaging, the companies website and / or contact the company.
- Caramel Color: Some types of caramel color are made from barley malt, which contains gluten. Other types are gluten-free, so to find out for sure, you'd have to contact the manufacturer.
- Dextrin: Dextrin can be derived from various starches, including wheat, and may contain gluten. Check the label or contact the manufacturer to know of sure.
- Wheat-Based Thickeners: Ingredients like wheat flour or wheat gluten are often used as thickeners in soups, sauces, and gravies.
- Brewer's Yeast: Brewer's yeast is often a byproduct of beer production and can contain gluten. It's different from nutritional yeast, which is typically gluten-free.
- Barley and Rye Ingredients: Foods and additives that include barley or rye or their derivatives, such as barley malt or rye flour, contain gluten.
- Spelt and Kamut: These grains are closely related to wheat and contain gluten. Products containing spelt or kamut are not safe for those avoiding gluten.
🥘Where to use hot sauce
Mexican cuisine is one of the most common places I see hot sauce front and centre on the table at restaurants.
But this hot pepper sauce isn't just for tacos and enchiladas!
There's so many different foods and dishes that you can add a kick of heat and sweet to.
Try these on for size:
- 🔥Add hot sauce to your tacos for an extra kick of flavor and heat.
- 🍳Drizzle hot sauce over your scrambled eggs to spice up your breakfast.
- 🐔Mix hot sauce into your marinade for grilled chicken to infuse it with a fiery taste.
- 🥣Stir hot sauce into your chili to give it an extra layer of spiciness.
- 🍕Splash hot sauce on your pizza for a zesty and bold flavor boost.
- 😋Dip your french fries in hot sauce for a unique and spicy twist on a classic snack.
- 🐷Brush hot sauce onto your barbecued ribs to create a delicious, fiery glaze
🙋♀️Now I want to hear from you
Do you love hot sauce? Where do you use it?
Are you glad to hear it's gluten-free?!
Comment below and have your say😄
Sign-up to get all the healthy and gluten-free recipes delivered straight to your inbox each week.
"*" indicates required fields